Appunti dal blu

Francesco Renna - Appunti dal blu - Copertina
Release Date: 2011-09-24
Available now on:
Loading tracks...

Appunti dal blu is Francesco Renna’s first studio album, released on September 24th 2011 by Blue Garret. All the 14 tracks, written by Renna except for Specchio, co-written with Matteo Rizzuto, were recorded from end 2010 to July 2011. Many musicians took part to the studio recordings. Carmine Ioanna played his accordion, Luis Di Gennaro piano and keyboards, Antonio Iandolo and Alfonso Fraire their guitars, Umberto Spiniello and Julian Iuliano played the drums, Giovanni Montesano recorded most of the bass parts of the project. Marco Ruggiero worked as sound engineer in his Sound Design studio in Monteforte (AV). Even if the project could sound a bit unripe, Renna proved his songwriting skills and received some good reviews and several radio passages in Italy and United States.

Album Review

Forse i suoi appunti dal blu Francesco Renna, cantautore avellinese, li ha presi durante lunghe nottate insonni, sognando ad occhi aperti e sfogliando l'album dei ricordi. Forse il blu è proprio la notte, il blu della notte, ma questo Appunti dal blu trasmette soprattutto una solarità che si esprime in immagini diurne e bucoliche, campi di grano macchiati dal rosso dei papaveri, ombre nette e definite da limpidi raggi di sole, uccellini che cantano e si rincorrono nel cielo, passeggiate in bicicletta lungo sentieri sterrati che attraversano morbide colline e che ci conducono verso una baia solitaria e incantata.
What is most striking about "Appunti dal Blu – Notes from Blue", Francesco Renna’s debut album, is the great variety of genres that it contains. His ability to pass, with bold ease, from Folk to Rock, from Blues to Funk, from Swing to Bossa Nova, from Pop to a kind of Dylanian songwriting, requires a significant cultural baggage for a 24-year-old young man. Just like the quality of his texts and the accuracy of his arrangements that reveal a great artistic maturity and a fervent creativity, as well as a perfectionism on the very margin of maniacal. The result is everything in a tracklist composed by 14 songs (11 plus 3 bonus tracks) due to years of commitment and sacrifices.
- Calabria Sounds Rock, IT - Vincenzo Compierchio, EN